TSU hosts event to recognize employees

[l-r] TSU 45 year employees Dr. Mohan Malkani, Dr. Ernest C. Rhodes
and Prof. James I. Bass with TSU President Dr. Glenda Glover.
                                                                                                                        photo: Cass Teague

Tennessee State University recently honored its employees for multiple years of service. The annual luncheon acknowledged employees who have served the university in increments of five years during the period of July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2013. The event, themed ‘Building on a Century of Service,’ was held on April 24 in Elliott Hall Auditorium (Women’s Building).

“I am pleased to have this opportunity to say ‘thank you’ and ‘congratulations,’” said TSU President Dr. Glenda Glover. “It is important to recognize those who have contributed to the excellence of this institution, and each of our honorees, in some way, has helped to make a difference here.”

James Bass, Mohan Malkani, and Ernest Rhodes were each recognized for their 45 years of service, while Desh Duseja, Mary Johnson, Elease Jolley, Lewis Laska, and Larry Woods were recognized for 40 years of service to TSU. Employees marking 35 years of service included: Barry Hickson, Carolyn Hodison, Vickie Holmes, and Donald Page. Belinda Patterson, Timothy Quain, and Raymond Richardson.

Thirty Year honorees included: Michael Busby, Brenda Coleman, Ivan Davis, Kerry Frazier, Darlene Harris-Vasser, Albretta Jackson, Debra Jackson, Robert Jones, Gloria Mayberry, Marian Patton, and Allen Tatum.

Twenty-five Year recognitions went to: Jane Asamani, Richard Banham, N. Mike Batson, Audie Black, Dianne Bryant, Gregory Clark, Leonard Hayes, Jocelyn Irby, Ann-Marie Rizzo, Gerald Robinson, Roger Sauve, Dianne Stewart-Starks, William Taylor, Jr., Benny Washington, and Linda Whitsey.

Twenty Years: Cynthia Brooks, Elaine Brown, Van Cain, Sidney Chandler, King Dandridge, Queen Edwards, Arlesia Frelix, Philip Ganter, Lois Harlston, Jimmie Hodges, John Hunter, Terrance Johnson, Barbara Kannard, Carolyn Long, Jeffery McGee, Mayibuye Monanabela, James Polk, Yvonne Sanders, Moinuddin Sarkar, Sivapragasam Sathananthan, Larry Snyder, Lillie Taylor, Rosemary Theriot, Abu Wahid, Daniel Wooten, and Darren Wright.

Fifteen Years: Sherry Anderson, Aleta Ballard de Ruiz, Orville Bignall, Carol Bompart, Delores Butler, Reginald Cannon, Mitchell Chamberlain, Ellen Chism Diane Coakley, John Dodd, Cindy Donnelly, Patrice Gordon, Sierra Ham, Cathy Hanley, Denese Hulbert, Everett Jolley, Michael Jones, Timothy Jones, Linda Knieps, Mahgoub Mahmoud, Kathy Martin, Jerome Mayberry, Wanda McBee, Jonatalyn Mercer, Shirley Miller, Marcy Mitchell, S. Yancy Padget, Richard Patterson, Ana Rueda-Garcia, James Sexton, Damita Sherron, Sonya Smith, Karen Stevens, Jeffery Thompson, Michelle Viera, Annette Walls, Celeste Williams, Carl Woods, and Sabrina Young.

Forty-five employees celebrated 10 years; Mohammad Al-Masum, Carol Campbell, Walretta Chandler, Bridgette Collins, Theron Corse, Sarita Criswell, Taja Davidson, Tung Do, Mary Fitzgerald, Blanche Glimps, Linda Goodman, Walter Hooks, John Jones, Christian Langer, David Lehman, Gary-Lee Lewis, Anthony Locklayer, Steven McCrary, Douglas McGahey, Diana McKenzie, Heh Miao, John Miller, Evelyn Nettles, Roger Painter, Daciena Perry, Laquita Perry, Sharon Peters, James Pitts, Roderick Reed, Julie Roberts, Tammy Rose, Deborah Smith, Lisa Smith, Wendell Smith, William Smith, Tiffany Steward, Richard Todd, Shirley Tyler, S. Corrine Vaughn, Santosh Venkatraman, Ariel Wells, Seanne Wilson, Linda Woodruff, Christine Word, and Rosalyn Word.

An additional 58 employees were feted for five years.