Vice Mayor Diane Neighbors appoints Metro Council Committee chairs

Vice Mayor Diane Neighbors has announced the 2013-14 Council Committee chairs.

“I am delighted that these Councilmembers are willing to take a leadership role during the coming year,” Neighbors said.

The newly appointed chairs for 2013-14 are as follows:
Budget and Finance, Ronnie Steine
Charter Revision, Burkley Allen
Codes, Fair and Farmers Market, Sandra Moore
Convention, Tourism and Public Entertainment Facilities, Tim Garrett
Education, Steve Glover
Federal Grants Review, Edith Taylor Langster
Health, Hospitals, and Social Services, Jerry Maynard
Parks, Library and Recreation, Charlie Tygard
Personnel-Public Information-Human Relations-Housing, Peter Westerholm
Public Safety-Beer and Regulated Beverages, Doug Pardue
Public Works, Duane Dominy
Rules-Confirmations-Public Elections, Megan Barry

The committee chairs change each year with the exception of the Planning & Zoning Committee and the Traffic & Parking Committee, which are elected for a two-year term by the entire Metro Council. On August 20, the Metropolitan Council elected Walter Hunt to serve a two-year term as chair of the Planning, Zoning and Historical Committee. Frank Harrison was re-elected as chair of the Traffic, Parking and Transportation Committee for a two-year term. Chris Harmon was elected president pro tem of the Council for a one-year term.

“During the past six years we have worked together to strengthen the committee system and provide ample opportunity for discussion and questions,” said Neighbors. “I look forward to our continued work together in our service to all citizens of Nashville.”