Citizens serving on Amp Advisory Committee named

Rendering of Nashville amp

The Amp Citizens Advisory Committee consists of merchants, property owners, neighborhood representatives, business leaders and other stakeholders interested in improving mass transit options in Nashville, both along the route and throughout the greater Nashville region.

The Amp Citizens Advisory Committee has been announced by Mayor Karl Dean. The first meeting is scheduled to take place on April 29 at noon at the Main Library’s conference center downtown.

“This Advisory Committee brings to the table varying viewpoints, and that was the goal we set out to achieve,” Mayor Dean said. “I want to thank the local and state representatives who helped us appoint people who live or work near the route to serve on the committee, and I look forward to hearing the Committee’s recommendations on how to make this vital transit project work for Nashville.”

In addition to appointments being made by State Representatives, State Senators and Metro Council Members whose districts sit along the route, Mayor Dean appointed several Committee members who represent constituencies impacted by the project, including people with disabilities, the aging population and large employers.

Mayor Dean appointed Bert Mathews, of the Mathews Company and Colliers International, to serve as chairman of the Advisory Committee. House Speaker Beth Harwell (R-Nashville) appointed attorney and west Nashville resident Dianne Neal and businessman Lee Beaman.

Subsequent to the April 29 meeting, the Committee will meet the last Tuesday of every month.

The Amp Citizens Advisory Committee was formed based on geographic and stakeholder diversity across the route. It is a nonpartisan, advisory body that will provide regular feedback and recommendations to the Amp engineers at Nashville MTA throughout the Final Design phase of the project. It will also serve as a vehicle for MTA to share information on a more regular basis about the Amp design with the community that each member represents.

The Committee includes merchants, property owners, neighborhood representatives, business leaders and other stakeholders interested in improving mass transit options in Nashville, both along the route and throughout the greater Nashville region.

Members of the Amp Citizens Advisory Committee include: Chair: Bert Mathews, the Mathews Company and Colliers International, and west Nashville resident; Tina Banks, general manager, Mapco Store 1033 on Main Street in East Nashville; Joe Barker, MarketStreet Enterprises and developer in the Gulch; Lee Beaman, Beaman Automotive; Arnett Bodenhamer, retired Command Sergeant Major of the U.S. Army and north Nashville business owner (Arnett & Associates); Drake Calton, retired financial advisor and resident of Richland neighborhood; Laura Denison, Registered Nurse, Alive Hospice and Hillsboro/West End resident; Beth Fortune, vice chancellor for Public Affairs, Vanderbilt University; Richard Fulton, Colliers International and west Nashville resident; Tricia Griggs, senior disability rights advocate, Disability Law & Advocacy Center; Barrett Hobbs, Cumberland Hospitality Group and Lower Broadway business owner; Coralee Holloway, director of community programs, Tennessee Housing Development Agency and east Nashville resident; Mina Johnson, community volunteer and west Nashville resident; Lewis Lavine, president, Center for Nonprofit Management and chair of the MTA Board Amp Committee; Cliff Lippard, public policy researcher/deputy executive director, Tennessee Advisory Commission on Intergov-ernmental Relations, state of Tennessee, adjunct assistant professor of education at Peabody College, Vanderbilt University, and member of Transit Now; Dianne Neal, attorney, instructor of Law and west Nashville resident; David Plummer, architect, Centric Architecture and Hillsboro/West End resident; Mike Schatzlein, president/CEO, St. Thomas Health; Ralph Schulz, president/CEO, Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce; Alan Sparkman, executive director, Tennessee Concrete Association and AARP advocate; Patricia Totty, north Nashville resident; Mary Vavra, landscape architect and planner, Lose & Associates and east Nashville resident; Chris Veit, senior designer, H2U-Health to You and Sylvan Park resident; Ben Vos, mental health counselor and east Nashville resident.

The Committee will include ex-officio members representing the Tennessee Department of Transportation, Nashville Area Metropolitan Planning Organization, Nashville MTA, Metro Public Works and Metro Planning Department.