TSU recognizes retirees and employees

TSU 2014 retirees with TSU President Dr. Glenda Glover (center)       photo: John Cross

TSU 2014 retirees with TSU President Dr. Glenda Glover (center)             photo: John Cross

Tennessee State University’s annual Employee Recognition Awards Luncheon program provides an opportunity to salute their colleagues for their time, talents and years of service to a great university.

“I want to extend my sincere gratitude for all you do to make Tennessee State University great,” said President Glenda Glover. “For those of you who are retiring, I thank you for your years of service and wish you well in the next chapter of your journey. For those of you sticking around, I congratulate you on your milestone of service. There’s much more for us to do and, together, we will continue to take TSU to new heights.”

‘New Century, New Direction for Excellence’ was the theme for the program hosted by Mistress of Ceremony Mrs. Brenda Gilmore, State Representative (District 54) on Wednesday, April 30. Following greetings on the occasion by President Glenda Baskin Glover, Dr. Coreen D. Jackson, associate professor and director of the Honors Program gave the Invocation. Lunch was served, during which TSU Jazz Combo, directed by associate professor, Dr. Sean Daniels, played music.

Professor Edward Graves, alumnus and long-time Band Director, gave his own very special reflections on behalf of his fellow retirees.
The retirees whose service ended in 2013, included: John Ashford, Yildiz Binkley, Michael Covington, Doris Daniels, William Hardy, Helen Houston, Alberta Jackson, Robert Jones, Carolyn Lewis, Anthony Locklayer, Dorothy Lockridge, Kenny Looney, Robert Newkirk, Christine Perkey, Timothy Quain, Mary D. Scott, Brenda Smith, Martha Stratton, Mary Taylor, Warren Wescott, and Paul Zeppelin.

Retirees in 2014 included: Herman Beasley, Bobby Brown, Michael Busby, Edythe Carrethers, King Dandridge, Waldine Deberry, Genair Ellis, Gloria Fair, Barbara Gleaves, Edward Graves, James Haney, Gearldean Johnson, Hinton Jones, Brenda Jordan Lewis, Elizabeth McClain, Venus Madry, Mohan Malkani, Lawence Maples, Peggy Nelson, Jane Norman, S. Yancey Padget, Marilyn Parks, Marian Patton, Lora Perry, Ayoub Sarayloo, Dorothy Simmons, Shirley Wallace, Barbara Watkins, Vickie West, Marsha Williams, Vicki Williams, Betty Wilson, and Sandra Wilson.

Awards were given for multiple years’ service in five year increments, as follows: Jyotsna Paruchuri and Georgianna Priddy — 45 years; Sammy Comer, Danielle Rhodes, and Jacqueline Mitchell — 40 years; Walter Acklen, Frank Battle, Mozell Byars, Kenneth Daniels, Janice Hayslett, Dwight Martin, and Memphis Swinney — 35 years; Revlon Briggs, Phyllis Danner, Winifred Golden-Bell, Murle Kenerson, Shelia McKissack-Wilkes, Dolores Mathis, Delores Modunkwu, Fletcher Moon, Paily Paily, Edward Risby, and Frank White — 30 years; Manuch Akbari, Carolyn Caudle, Mary Gamble, Shelia Hasting, Carol Helton, Gregory Henry, Dollie Hodges, Delores Johns, Carlyle Johnson, Queen Johnson, Valencia Jordan, Teresa Lawrence-Phillips, Janice Lovell, Gregory Mitchell, Yvonne Myles, Jane Norman, Marjorie Seward, and Sharon Smith — 25 years; Virgie Bolden, Colette Bradley, Richard Browning, Jr., Gretha Burch-Sims, Chandra Cheeseborough, Enefiok Ekanem, John Ferrell, Nick Gawel, Mark Gunter, Kimberly Hannah, John Harris, Patrick Idoye, Mohammad Karim, Charles Lancaster, Jane McKinney, Diane Majors, Clyde Mansfield, Marc Mazzone, Oscar Miller, Charlotte Phillips, Linda Porter, Ruthie Reynolds, Amir Shirkhodaie, Finis Stribling, Sharon Thach, Betty Wade, and Charles Wilson — 20 years. Forty-five employees were recognized for 15 years; 58 employees for 10 years; and 48 for five years.