Karen Johnson elected President Pro Tem by Metro Council members

Metro Council President Pro Tem Karen Y Johnson

Metro Council President Pro Tem Karen Y Johnson

The PRIDE wishes to send its congratulations to District 29 Metro Council Member Karen Y. Johnson, who was elected President Pro Tempore (“pro tem”) for 2015-16 by Metro Council members. Council Members elect a President Pro Tem to serve in the absence of the Vice Mayor, who is the President of the Metro Council and serves as its presiding officer. By virtue of her office, she also serves on the Executive Committee of the Council.

Karen Y. Johnson is a human resources professional who earned her Master’s degree in Business Administration from Trevecca Nazarene University, after earning her bachelors degree in business administration from Tennessee State University. Johnson is certified in behavioral interviewing with Development Dimensions international. Johnson is a graduate of Leadership Nashville and was selected to serve on the national level as a fellow with the National League of Cities National Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials.

“It’s a great honor to be chosen by my colleagues to serve as President Pro Tem,” said Johnson. “In the absence of the Vice Mayor, I look forward to serving and representing the Members of Council in this leadership capacity. Together we will continue the exciting momentum present in our city while allowing new ideas that will help create a more responsive city government.”

Johnson is married to David Johnson, and they have three children: Chris, Jon, and Dave. She is a member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, incorporated and a member of the Mt. Zion Baptist Church family.

Ms. Johnson now becomes the third African American woman to fill this important seat in the Metro government structure. She will be called upon many times over the coming year to chair meetings of the council, and preside over debates, many of which can get heated inside the Metro Council chambers.

The Metropolitan Council is the legislative authority of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County, a city-county consolidated government created on April 1, 1963. The Council is a 40-member body of elected representatives, of which 35 are elected by district and 5 are elected at-large, that is to say county-wide. The presiding officer of the Metropolitan Council is the Vice Mayor, who is elected at-large by the citizens of Nashville and Davidson County. The President Pro Tem serves in the absence of the Vice Mayor. Members are elected to serve a term of four years.

By the Metropolitan Government Charter the regular meetings of the Council are held on the first and third Tuesdays of every month. Meetings convene at 6:30 p.m. The meetings are held in the David Scobey Council Chamber in the Historic Metro Courthouse, One Public Square in downtown Nashville. All meetings are open to the public. Meetings are broadcast live at Metro3 Government TV on Nashville’s Comcast Channel 3 and are streamed live at the Metro3 livestream site. Meetings are scheduled for repeat on Metro3 through the course of the following weeks; check program listing for times.