Metro Schools Director Dr. Shawn Joseph meets with families


Dr. Shawn Joseph

Dr. Shawn Joseph, new Director of Metro Nashville Public Schools, is committed to an open dialogue with the Nashville community and has a sincere interest in hearing what its citizens have to say. He will spend his first 100 days talking with parents, students, teachers, neighbors, civic and business leaders and more, to learn more about the district and its needs, and collect input for a new strategic planning process.

“One of the first things I am doing is to visit with families in each school cluster to listen to what you have to say about the future of our schools,” says Dr. Joseph. “I want to hear your thoughts on what’s working and what’s not, so that we can develop a plan to take us forward that addresses your needs and hopes for your child’s education.

“I want to personally invite you to join the conversation this summer by attending one of our ‘Listen & Learn’ sessions, which are scheduled in all parts of Nashville in July and early August. I hope that you and your family will attend at least one and participate. There will be free childcare available and even a popsicle party.”

Each includes an hour-long question and answer meeting with Dr. Joseph and area Board members, and interactive ‘deep dives’ into specific questions and important topics. Meetings serve all the district’s geographic clusters and Board districts. Open to the public, parents, students, staff and school community partners are encouraged to attend.

Information will be compiled into a public report to be weighed heavily in Dr. Joseph’s strategic planning process during and after his first 100 days.

Full Listen and Learn Schedule (Sessions start at 6:00 p.m.)

Monday, July 11, 2016 –  Hunters Lane High School
Board Members: Jill Speering – District 3; Dr. Sharon Gentry, Chair – District 1
Wednesday, July 13, 2016 – Martha O’Bryan Center
Board Members: Elissa Kim – District 5; Jill Speering – District 3

Thursday, July 14, 2016 –  Bellevue Middle School
Board Member: Amy Frogge – District 9

Monday, July 18, 2016 –  Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School
Board Members: Dr. Sharon Gentry, Chair – District 1; Elissa Kim – District 5

Tuesday, July 19, 2016 –  Hillsboro High School
Board Members: Mary Pierce – District 8; Amy Frogge – District 9

Wednesday, July 20, 2016 – Antioch  / at Faith Life Church (in the Global Mall at the Crossings)
Board Members: Tyese Hunter – District 6; Will Pinkston – District 7; Anna Shepherd – District 4

Thursday, July 28, 2016 – McGavock High School
Board Members: Anna Shepherd – District 4; Elissa Kim – District 5

Monday, August 1, 2016 – Overton / at Oliver Middle School
Board Members: Dr. Jo Ann Brannon – District 2; Will Pinkston – District 7; Will Pinkston – District 7