YWCA names 2016 Academy For Women of Achievement Honorees

(L to R): 2016 AWA Honorees Mayor Megan Barry, Dr. Katherine Brown, Beverly Keel, Cordia Harrington, Claire Gulmi, Marilyn Dubree and Councilwoman Sharon Hurt.

(L to R): 2016 AWA Honorees Mayor Megan Barry, Dr. Katherine Brown, Beverly Keel, Cordia Harrington, Claire Gulmi, Marilyn Dubree and Councilwoman Sharon Hurt.

Eight inspiring Nashville women have been selected as inductees into the 2016 Academy for Women of Achievement. They will be honored at the 25th annual Academy for Women of Achievement celebration and induction dinner on Oct. 6. The event is presented by YWCA Nashville & Middle Tennessee and First Tennessee.

The 2016 honorees are Aleta Trauger, U. S. District Court judge for the Middle District of Tennessee; Beverly Keel, professor and department chairwoman, Middle Tennessee State University Department of Recording Industry; Claire Gulmi, executive vice president and CFO, AmSurg; Cordia Harrington, founder and CEO, The Bakery Cos.; Katherine Brown, president and founder, Learn CPR America; Marilyn Dubree, executive chief nursing officer at Vanderbilt University Medical Center and senior associate dean for clinical practice at Vanderbilt University School of Nursing; Metro Nashville Councilwoman At-Large Sharon Hurt, founder and CEO, Jefferson St. United Merchants Partnership (JUMP); and Mayor Megan Barry, mayor of Nashville.

Cracker Barrel is the 2016 corporate honoree. Corporate honorees are selected based on their engagement with female employees and for building a positive work environment for all employees. These honorees provide opportunities for women to enter the workforce and advance in their careers.

“This year’s honorees have made and are continuing to make significant contributions to their community,” said AWA co-chairwoman Mary Winn Pilkington. “Middle Tennessee is a better place because of their inspiring work, and we are excited to honor them in October.”

Event co-chairwoman Rita Johnson-Mills echoed these sentiments, saying, “These honorees are remarkable leaders and true inspirations to us all. They are driven, successful women whose service to their community deserves recognition and gratitude.”

The Academy for Women of Achievement was launched locally in 1992 by YWCA Nashville & Middle Tennessee, and it is being presented for the 11th year by First Tennessee. The AWA honors women who, through excellence and leadership in their chosen fields, serve as role models for other women. This year’s recipients join 143 other women who hold this distinctive honor.

The Academy judging committee, composed of business and community leaders, chose the honorees from an exceptional list of nominees.

The awards celebration will be held Thursday, Oct. 6, at the Omni Nashville Hotel. Tickets are $200 ($130 tax-deductible). Tickets and tables can be purchased now on the YWCA website (www. ywcanashville.com) or by calling (615) 983-5146.

First Tennessee will be the event’s presenting sponsor for the 11th consecutive year. Other event sponsors include Dollar General, UnitedHealthcare, Go West Creative, The Tennessean, MP&F Public Relations, and DVL Seigenthaler.

Proceeds from the AWA recognition dinner help fund YWCA programs and services. YWCA Nashville & Middle Tennessee is dedicated to eliminating racism, empowering women, and promoting peace, justice, freedom and dignity for all. We are on a mission to ensure those in need are supported along the continuum of prevention, safety, self-sufficiency and success. The following programs are offered regardless of race, ethnicity, religion, gender or gender identity: Domestic Violence Services, Girls Inc. at YWCA, MEND, Family Literacy Center, Dress for Success Nashville, and Women Presidents’ Organ-ization.

For more information: www.ywcanashville.com