Musicians Hall of Fame Induction Concert coming

Russell Thompkins, Jr. will perform at the Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum™ Induction Ceremony and Concert

Russell Thompkins, Jr. will perform at the Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum™ Induction Ceremony and Concert

The Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum will hold their 2016 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Concert on Wednesday, Oct. 26, at 7:00 pm at the Historic Nashville Municipal Auditorium, home to the Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, and GRAMMY Museum Gallery at Musicians Hall of Fame.

Russell Thompkins, Jr. of The Stylistics will perform live, accompanied by musicians from the Sigma Sound Studios/MFSB/TSOP. Other performers include Peter Frampton, Bruce Hornsby, and Trisha Yearwood.

Inducted as a group will be the Sigma Sound Studio Rhythm Section, also known as TSOP (The Sound of Philadelphia) and MFSB. This group of session musicians created a genre of soul music with funk influences, often with sweeping strings and piercing horns, which sets the unique sound of Philadelphia apart. You know them from the “Theme from Soul Train” and hits like “Back Stabbers” by The O’Jays, “La La Means I Love You” by the Delfonics, and “If You Don’t Know Me By Now” by Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes. Members include Ronnie Baker (posthumously, guitar), Tommy Bell (keyboards), Roland Chambers (posthumously, guitar) Charles Collins (drums), Bobby Eli (guitar), Dennis Harris (guitar), Norman Harris (posthumously, guitar), Vince Montana (posthumously, vibes), TJ Tindall (posthumously, guitar), Larry Washington (posthumously, congas), Jimmy Williams (bass), and Earl Young (drummer).

Other artist inductees are Garth Brooks & The G-Men (Bruce Bouton, Mark Casstevens, Mike Chapman, Rob Hajacos, Chris Leuzinger, Milton Sledge, and Bobby Wood); Jerry Reed (posthumously); and Ricky Skaggs. Engineering Awards will be given to Lou Bradley, Mark Miller, Ron “Snake” Reynolds, and Joe Tarsia.

Joe Tarsia is the founder of Sigma Sound Studio and engineered most of their records. He has engineered an amazing number of classic pop music songs, including “A Brand New Me” by Dusty Springfield, “To Know You Is To Love

You” by B.B. King, and “Life Is A Song Worth Singing” by Teddy Pendergrass. He has earned over 150 gold and platinum record awards.

The Iconic Riff Award will be given to Don Felder, lead guitarist of the Eagles, for his amazing work on the solo on “Hotel California.” The Producer Award will be given to Allen Reynolds.

From Jimi Hendrix to Michael Jackson to Prince, and many more, the Musicians Hall of Fame celebrates the achievements of musicians from every decade since the 1950s, and from every corner of the country. With education being paramount, each section of the museum focuses on an important city in the history of American music – including Detroit, Los Angeles, Muscle Shoals, Atlanta, Memphis, and Nashville, exploring each area’s contributions. The museum focuses on the session musicians who played on thousands of iconic recordings.

The GRAMMY Museum Gallery is an interactive music space, which permanently opened at the Musicians Hall of Fame in April 2016. The Induction Ceremony and Concert honors new members, and ensures the continued growth of the Musicians Hall of Fame. Tickets are available through Ticketmaster.