State lawmakers win new posts with NBCSL

Brenda Gilmore

Brenda Gilmore

Several Tennessee lawmakers were elected to new leadership positions at the National Black Caucus of State Legislators 40th Annual Legislative Conference in New Orleans last week.

Rep. Raumesh Akbari of Memphis was elected as Treasurer. Rep. Akbari is currently the vice-chair of the Tennessee Black Caucus of State Legislators and was recently elected to the position of Floor Leader of the Tennessee House Democratic Caucus for the upcoming 110th General Assembly.

In other action at this year’s convention, Memphis Rep. Larry Miller was named NBCSL vice chair for Region IV—Tennessee’s region.

Rep. Brenda Gilmore of Nashville and current chair of the Tennessee Black Caucus, and Memphis Reps. Karen Camper and G. A. Hardaway were all named executive members at large. Camper was recently re-elected treasurer of the Tennessee House Democratic Caucus.

Commenting on Tennessee’s good showing in the NBCSL elections, Chairwoman Gilmore said: “The large number of Tennessee Representatives elected to national roles within NBCSL shows the great influence that African American lawmakers from this state are having on the national stage.”