DCSO honors employees at awards banquet

Viranda Smith receives her Employee of the Year award from Sheriff Daron Hall.

Viranda Smith receives her Employee of the Year award from Sheriff Daron Hall.

Employees of the Davidson County Sheriff’s office gathered for their annual awards banquet at Travecca Community Church Family Life Center hosted by Sheriff Daron Hall on March 30. It was an evening of food and fellowship, to say thank you and honor the DCSO employees who show a deep commitment to serve the community.

“We have celebrated this night for over 22 years,” said Chief Tony Wilkes. “We are so pleased to have the group with us here tonight.”

The event was part of a week-long ‘thank you’ that included a relaxed dress code, free food, and a massive gift giveaway.

“I want to thank you for being a part of this family on the first day, but to me the most important part is that you are part of this family right now,” Sheriff Daron Hall told the assembly of employees.

Honorees and their guests enjoyed dinner before receiving their service pins, presented by Sheriff Hall for five, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 years of service.

The awards pins are part of a program that Sheriff Hall put together years ago to allow the DCSO to recognize the service of its employees.

“We wanted to put together a program that allows us to recognize years of service in a way that can be displayed where people could wear it and have it. We came up with what is now the service pin.”

Sheriff Hall went on to say that he hopes that the award isn’t about the badge or the pin: “I hope there’s something in there about pride.”

Sheriff Hall says that that the DCSO does this and other activities to make sure that employees feel appreciated and that their voices are being heard.

“The average person changes jobs or careers nine times in their lifetime, and we want this to be it. We don’t want you to leave. We don’t”

The DCSO not only has the most diverse staff in the Nashville Metropolitan Government, but also has lowest turnover rate in the United States.

Also at the banquet, special awards were presented to Viranda Smith (Employee of the Year), Tyrone Collier (Officer of the Year), and Terry Lewis (Ambassador of the Year).