MTSU honors Dr. Judy K. Douglas Holmes, other 2018 retirees

Group of all MTSU Retirees Present

The recent Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU) ceremony for 57 distinguished retirees honored them in grand fashion. Dr. Judy K. Douglas Holmes shared the joy and success, noting that she was proud of each of her colleagues for their years of service to the institution.

An accomplished individual, Dr. Holmes grew up in Nashville. She graduated Valedictorian from North High School and received a full scholarship to Vanderbilt University. Holmes double-majored in business administration and economics. After graduation she received an MBA from the University of Tennessee-Nashville. She entered Clemson’s Ph.D. program and obtained her Ph.D. in industrial management with a concentration in ‘management information systems.’

Dr. Judy D. Holmes proudly holding retirement gift form MTSU.

Prior to earning her doctorate, Dr. Holmes worked for approximately eight years at E.I. DuPont deNemours, Inc. in Old Hickory, Tenn., where she worked as a programmer, systems analyst, and systems programmer. She went through a management-training program working in manufacturing as a first line supervisor, physical testing laboratory supervisor, chemical testing laboratory and quality control supervisor to become a venture planner for Dacron Flake (a critical ingredient in the production of textile fibers).

Dr. Holmes taught at the University of South Carolina-Spartanburg, Clemson University and Furman University. She taught ‘management information systems’ and ‘introduction to micro computing’ for the last 19 years. She served on numerous departmental, college and university committees. She has published countless journal articles and papers in conference proceedings. She also served on MTSU’s Faculty Senate and President McPhee’s steering committee.

Dr. Holmes attends St. Rose of Lima Catholic Church and St. Vincent de Paul Catholic Church. She is a member of several humanitarian and civic organizations, including: the Hendersonville Chapter of Links, Inc. alumnae; Jack and Jill, Inc. alumnae; the Nashville Chapter of Girl Friends, Inc.; the Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority; and the Dazzling Red Hat Sisters.

With her additional free time since retiring, she has become even more active in her church and civic duties, allowing her to give back to the community. She believes that “to whom much is given, much is expected”— anonymous author.

Additional MTSU 2018 retirees included: Michael Dana Allen, engineering technology; Jennie E. Arnold, flight training program; Fannie E. Barnett, post office; Deborah Hicks Bartlett, athletics; Rodney E. Benford, housing facilities; Patricia Jean Boda, geosciences; Kathryn Elizabeth Boudreau, Womack Educational Leadership; Connie M. Bowrey, music; Nancy M. Bragg, College of Business; Tammy Quimbley Bryant, University College Administration; Roy Glen Brewer, public safety; Alton Loyd Camp, Walker Library (posthumously); William Lee Canak, sociology and anthropology; Thomas J. Cheatham, Tennessee STEM Education; Bene Scanlon Cox, English; Jennifer L. Dooley, ‘university studies’; Shendora A. Dorse, health sciences; Minnie Jean Faulk, facilities services; David Lee Feagans, facilities services; Troy A. Festervand, marketing; Judith L. Fogus, financial aide and scholarship; Harry P. Garbharran, global studies and human geography; Billy Roy Garrette, vehicle operations; Mary E. Glass, business office; Duane B. Graddy, economics and finance; Angela Hague, English; Angela M. Hambrick, undergraduate recruit-ment; J. Douglas Heffington, global studies and human geography; Ames A. Henry, geosciences; Judy D. Holmes, computer information systems; Robert E. Hunt, history; Howard Keith Jenkins, building services; Katie Kemp, marketing; Kenneth G. Lancaster, social work; Denise Marie Leggett, accounting; Kathleen Nan Matson, Walker Library; Nancy J. McCormick, mathematical sciences; Virginia Lynn McKnight, biology; Michael D. Melton, parking services; Janet Frawley Outlaw, counseling services; Barbara Lanette Patton, institutional equity and compliance; Kathryn M. Pedigo, enrollment technical services; Melanie Lou Plemons, Walker Library; Neil Prater, informational technology; Sally Rivera, Center for Educational Media; Georganne Ross, university studies; Joseph E. Rouse, university studies; Laureen M. Schultz, business office; Stephen M. Shearon, music; Richard Smith, housing and residential life; Ramona R. Taylor, facilities services administration; Margaret Jane Tipps, counseling services; Norman Lee Weatherby, health and human performance; Terry M. Weeks, Womack Educational Leadership; Jungsoon P. Yoo, computer science; and Sung Kun Yoo, computer science.