TSU Employee Recognition Luncheon celebrates employees and retirees

Lelan Statom served as MC for the TSU Employees Luncheon.

Tennessee State University’s annual Employee Recognition Awards Luncheon program provides an opportunity to salute their colleagues for their time, talents and years of service to a great university. TSU believes in celebrating faculty and staff, and it was no more evident than during the 26th annual Employee Recognition Luncheon. The yearly event provides special recognition to university employees for their years of service and honors those who are retiring.

The annual luncheon acknowledged employees who have served the university in increments of five years. This year’s event, themed ‘Excellence: Our Priority,’ was held on Tuesday, April 24 in the Jane Elliott Hall Auditorium (Women’s Building).

“It is with great pleasure that we take this opportunity to salute our fellow colleagues for their time, talents and years of service to our great university,” said TSU President Glenda Baskin Glover. “The work that takes place on our campus is done through the collaborative effort of so many hard working individuals who share a commitment to our mission. You are the integral components who keep this machine working, and I applaud you for your dedicated service to the campus community.”

Master of Ceremony Lelan Statom, weather anchor and reporter for local television station News Channel 5, opened the program. Following greetings on the occasion by President Glover, Mr. Jimmie Hodges gave the Invocation. Lunch was served, during which the TSU Jazz Combo, directed by associate professor Dr. Sean Daniels on piano, played. Members of the student group included Demarcus Felton, trumpet; Jaime Fields, trumpet; Calvin Jordan, trombone; Tumaine Powell, trumpet; Corina Shipp, alto saxophone; and Jordan Spencer, bass guitar.

Dr. Jeri Lee, Associate Professor, Psychology Department, gave her own very special reflections on behalf of her fellow retirees. The retirees group consisted of Ms. Lynette Alexander, Ms. Sherry Anderson, Mr. Coleman Beard, Ms. Diana Brown, Ms. Paulette Calhoun-Covington, Dr. James Chatman, Mr. Kenneth Daniels, Ms. Odessa Drouillard, Dr. Denise Dunbar, Dr. Mary Fitzgerald, Ms. Cathy Hanley, Dr. Mark Hardy, Dr. John Harris, Mr. Herman Hasting, Ms. Nancy Henthorne, Ms. Vickie Holmes, Mr. Guillermo Larrea, Dr. Lewis Laska, Dr. Jeri Lee, Ms. Deborah Long, Ms. Nannette Martin, Mr. Jerome Mayberry, Mr. Gregory Mitchell, Dr. Jyotsna Paruchuri, Mr. Edward Risby, Mr. Gerald Robinson, Ms. Felita Smith, Dr. Carmelia Taylor, Mr. Frank White, Mr. Daniel Wooten, and Ms. Sabrina Young.

Service Awards were given for multiple years of service in five year increments, as follows: 45 Years – Elease Jolley and Larry Woods; 40 Years – Barry Hickson, Vickie Holmes, Donald Page and Belinda Patterson; 35 Years – Brenda Coleman, Ivan Davis, Kerry Frazier, Darlene Harris-Vasser, Debra Jackson and Allen Tatum; 30 Years – Jane Asamani, Audie Black, Cynthia Brooks, Dianne Bryant, Gregory Clark, Jocelyn Irby, Ann-Marie Rizzo, Dianne Stewart-Starks, William Taylor Jr., Benny Washington and Linda Whitsey; 25 Years – Elaine Brown, Arlesia Frelix, Queen Gardner, Lois Harlston (posthumously), Jimmie Hodges, John Hunter, Terrance Johnson, Barbara Kannard, Kenneth Lewis, Carolyn Long, Jeffrey McGee, Maria Revell, Yvonne Sanders, Moinuddin Sarkar, Sivapragasam Sathananthan, Lillie Taylor, Rosemary Theriot, Abu Wahid, Daniel Wooten and Darren Wright. Please go to the version of this article on the official PRIDE website to see the names of awardees for 20 Years, 15 Years, 10 Years and 5 Years.

To see photos, click Here.