Matthew Walker inducted into Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame

Dr. Matthew Walker, Sr.

The Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame inducted its 2018 class at a luncheon and ceremony held in Belmont’s Curb Event Center last week. This year’s class is made up of seven health care legends from across the state. Hosted by John Seigenthaler, Jr., the Hall of Fame seeks to recognize and honor the leaders that have formed Tennessee’s health and health care community.

President of the Nashville Health Care Council Hayley Hovious said: “The Nashville Health Care Council is honored to be a Founding Partner of The Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame, endorsing and supporting this impressive group of inductees. With individuals from all across Tennessee who have made a significant impact on their communities through their work as leaders, politicians, practitioners, scientists, philanthropists and innovators, the Hall of Fame is honored to induct such a deserving group of health care heroes.”

Among the nearly 40 highly qualified nominees, inductees were chosen by a Selection Committee made up of health and health care leaders from across the state. Selected inductees represent some of Tennessee’s greatest health and health care pioneers, leaders and innovators.

The 2018 inductees include: Monroe Carell, Jr.: former CEO of Nashville-based Central Parking Corporation; prominent philanthropist who led efforts to fund the Monroe Carell, Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt.

Carol Etherington: initiated victim intervention for the Davidson County Police Department; established coalitions that led to the founding of the Nashville Prevention Partnership and volunteer mental health pools for the Red Cross; current chair of the Metro Nashville Board of Health and associate professor of nursing, emerita, at Vanderbilt Institute for Global Health.

John Henry Hale and Millie Hale: brave and innovative practitioners who paved the way for justice and equality; opened their home to become the Millie E. Hale Hospital when African Americans couldn’t be treated at White institutions; created a holistic community center; Dr. Hale was professor of clinical medicine and surgery at Meharry; Millie Hale created a training center for nurses across the South.

Lynn Massingale: known as a major influencer on emergency medicine, nationwide; founded TeamHealth and served as CEO (1979-2009) and now chairman; was named a ‘hero of emergency medicine’ by the American College of Emergency Physicians and received the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award; previous EMS medical director of Tennessee.

William Schaffner: professor of preventive medicine, Department of Health Policy and professor of medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine; nation’s pioneer of rigorous infection control in hospitals; his Nashville standard became the standard of excellence nationwide; national leader on adult immunizations; served as president of the National Foundation for Infectious Disease and is now medical director; longest-serving member of the CDC’s Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices; Matthew Walker, Sr.: founded the Matthew Walker Comprehensive Health Center, Inc.; was one of the first African Americans voted into the Nashville Academy of Medicine; credited for training half of the African Americans in the U.S. at the time of his death; served as a professor at Meharry for four decades; first African American Fellow of the American College of Surgeons.

Belmont’s President Dr. Bob Fisher said: “I am grateful for Belmont’s placement in Tennessee—a state widely recognized as a central hub for health care in the U.S. With Nashville at the helm, our community continues to see many individuals and organizations take significant strides to shape and advance the industry. Meanwhile, Belmont University continues to play its role in the education of future health care innovators, practitioners, researchers and more—those who will become the next generation of Hall of Famers. The induction of this year’s class will continue to inspire the students who fill our campus, while further promoting our state’s success as the nation’s premiere health care hub.”

Since its creation, the Hall of Fame has previously inducted 20 members including Jack Bovender, Dr. Dorothy Lavinia Brown, Dr. Stanley Cohen, Dr. Colleen Conway-Welch, Dr. Thomas Frist, Jr., Dr. Thomas Frist, Sr., Dr. William H. Frist, Dr. Henry Foster, Dr. Ernest Goodpasture, Joel Gordon, Dr. Frank Groner, Dr. Harry Jacobson, Jack C. Massey, R. Clayton McWhorter, Dr. Stanford Moore, Dr. Donald Pinkel, Dr. David Satcher, Dr. Mildred Stahlman, Dr. Paul Stanton and Danny Thomas.