Finalists for Tennessee Titans Mr. Football awards announced

Bernard Childress, Executive Director of the TSSAA

The Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards will be presented to the top football players in nine classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on Sunday, November 25, at Nissan Stadium in Nashville. For the 17th consecutive year, the top kicker in the state will be recognized with a Mr. Football Award, regardless of classification.

Five semifinalists in each classification were announced on November 2. There are six classifications in Division I and three in Division II.
A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2018 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

“We are very appreciative of the Tennessee Titans for their continued support of these awards,” stated Bernard Childress, executive director of the TSSAA. “Having the awards presented at Nissan Stadium will provide a very special atmosphere for these outstanding student-athletes.”

This is the 34th year that the Mr. Football Awards have been presented to Tennessee’s best high school football players. A Mr. Football trophy will be presented to the winners of each category. A Mr. Football plaque will be presented to the other two finalists in each category. The other semi-finalists will each receive a certificate.

More than 400 people, including the 30 finalists, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, are expected to attend the 2018 dinner.

Mike Keith, play-by-play voice of the Tennessee Titans, will emcee the awards presentation. A live video stream of the awards will be provided on the official website at

2018 Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Finalists

Division I, Class 1A
Bryce Hanley, Greenback
Dezmon Johnson, Lake County
Cameron Whitaker, Cornersville

Division I, Class 2A
Jeremiah Batiste, Tyner
J.D. Dixon, Waverly
Aaron Swafford, Meigs County

Division I, Class 3A
Kam Harris-Lusk, Fairview
Walker Russell, Alcoa
Xavier Shepherd, Pearl Cohn

Division I, Class 4A
Cade Ballard, Greeneville
Bobo Hodges, Maplewood
Stanton Martin, Anderson County

Division I, Class 5A
Herbert Booker, Oak Ridge
Cade Larkins, David Crockett
Deshawn Page, Fulton

Division I, Class 6A
Xavier Myers, Oakland
T.J. Sheffield, Independence
Devon Starling, Cane Ridge

Division II, Class A
Da’Joun Hewitt, Davidson Academy
Stone Norton, Davidson Academy
Rube Scott Rhea, Fayette Academy

Division II, Class AA
Eric Gray, Lausanne
Noah Henderson, CPA
Cameron Wynn, Notre Dame

Division II, Class AAA
Maurice Hampton, MUS
Bill Norton, Christian Brothers
Omari Thomas, Briarcrest

Kicker of the Year
Mason Lafollette, East Hamilton
Garrett Taylor, Oakland
Zaden Webber, Rossview