Early Voting for Special Election available January 23–February 7

Last updated on February 7th, 2019 at 12:19 pm

(top row l-r) Constance Smith-Burwell, Nicola “Nick” La Mattina, (bottom row l-r) Delishia Porterfield, and Vicky Tataryn.

Early Voting for the February 12 Special Election to fill the Council District 29 seat vacated by Karen Johnson when she became the new Davidson County register of deeds, began Wednesday, January 23, and runs through Thursday, February 7. Davidson County registered voters residing in District 29 are eligible to vote in this election.

In the race are four candidates, including: Constance Smith-Burwell, Nicola ‘Nick’ La Mattina, Delishia Porterfield, and Vicky Tataryn.

Constance Smith-Burwell, 63, serves on the board of the Tennessee State Employees Association, executive board of the Davidson County Democratic Women, and was formerly at the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

Nicola ‘Nick’ La Mattina is a local businessman who owns and operates a neighborhood pizzeria.

Delishia Porterfield, who has been endorsed by former District 29 councilwoman Karen Johnson, is a special education coach at Metro Nashville Public Schools. Porterfield is a licensed minister Mt. Zion Baptist Church and sits on the board for The Destiny Theatre Experience, eMpowerment Inc., and Ignite Her Pursuit.

Vicky Tataryn is a geriatric nurse, who serves as president of the Edge-O-Lake Neighbors Association.
Early Voting will be available at the Main Office of the Davidson County Election Commission, located at 1417 Murfreesboro Pike, including Tuesday and Thursday evenings and two Saturday mornings. On Election Day, Tuesday, February 12, residents must vote at their designated polling location, listed on their voter registration card or identified at <nashville.gov/vote>.

“Should there be inclement weather during the Early Voting period, we will follow the same schedule as Metropolitan Davidson County Government,” said Jeff Roberts, administrator of elections. “If Metro Government offices close, Early Voting will close.”