The late Rev. Percy J. Clark honored with renamed street

The late Rev. Percy J. Clark was honored with the renaming of a portion of Herman Street.

A portion of Herman Street has been renamed Pastor Percy J. Clark Way, in honor of the late pastor of Mt. Calvary Missionary Baptist Church.

On Sunday, October 4, Metropolitan Nashville Councilman Brandon Taylor and Mt. Calvary Missionary Baptist Church members unveiled the Pastor Percy J. Clark Way honorary street sign:

“We the members of Mt. Calvary Missionary Baptist Church are proud and honored to witness such a great occasion,” said church representatives.  “…of our former pastor was a renowned gospel singer who traveled the country preaching and singing gospel music. He had a gift for writing music and opened Mt. Calvary’s doors to many young preachers and gospel artists.”

Rev. Percy J. Clark was born in Holcomb, Mississippi and moved at an early age to Chicago. Pastor Clark was educated in the public schools of Mississippi and Illinois and studied at the Southern Baptist School of Divinity and Airport Theological Bible School.

In 1957 Clark united with the Fellowship Baptist Church of Chicago, Illinois under the Pastorate of Rev. Clay Evans. Blessed with a spirit filled voice, Rev. Clark was the lead singer and organizer of the Pilgrim Jubilees, the Mighty Redeemers, traveled with the Pilgrim Wanders and was a member of the Salem Travelers, Flying Eagles and Heavenly Five. The Lord also blessed Clark not only with a melodic voice, but also the gift of writing gospel songs. He is the author of ‘The Time Is Now’ recorded by the Pilgrim Wanders, ‘I Can’t Do Nothing Without You Lord’ and many other songs.

After moving to Tennessee, Rev. Clark received his ministerial license in 1970 under the late Rev Frank Brown, Jr. and pastored several churches in Bell Buckle, Tenn. and surrounding areas.

A spirit-filled leader, Rev. Clark was installed as pastor of Mt. Calvary Missionary Baptist Church in February 1982.

Clark faithfully served the members of Mt. Calvary for 38 years until he transitioned on March 30, 2020.