House Democratic Caucus elects leadership positions

Pictured (l to r): Rep. Karen Camper, Rep. Vincent Dixie, Rep. Harold Love, Jr., Rep. Bill Beck, Rep. Jason Powell, Rep. Bob Freeman, Rep. Jesse Chism, Rep. London Lamar, Rep. Larry Miller.

The Tennessee House Democratic Caucus has elected its leadership positions for the upcoming 112th General Assembly of the Tennessee House of Representatives. Rep. Karen Camper of Memphis was re-elected House Minority Leader by a unanimous vote.  Nashville Rep. Vincent Dixie was elected Caucus Chair. Other positions elected were as follows:

  • Assistant Minority Leader—Rep. Harold Love, Jr. of Nashville
  • House Floor Leader—Rep. Bill Beck of Nashville
  • Minority Whip—Rep. Jason Powell of Nashville
  • Caucus Vice-Chair—Rep. Bob Freeman of Nashville
  • Caucus Treasurer—Rep. Jesse Chism of Memphis
  • Caucus Secretary—Rep. London Lamar of Memphis
  • Leader Pro Tempore—Rep. Larry Miller of Memphis

Leader Camper said she’s “excited about the mix of veteran knowledge and new ideas in the Democratic leadership team.” Chairman Dixie added: “I am honored by the trust shown in me by the Caucus. Now it’s time to get to work and that work begins today.”